Hello!

Hi reader!

I am Shweta Oak. I got an amazing opportunity to work with Mozilla’s Kinto team through the Outreachy program. I will keep you updated on the progress I make through posts on this blog, so, keep visiting and giving feedback as it gives a new perspective 🙂 In this post, I will introduce myself and give you some insight about what my project is about.

 

About me 

I am passionate about Technology and believe in applying it to enhance the lives of people. I like to solve problems. While solving problems, I like exploring and crafting various solutions to find the best one. I am enthusiastic about taking up new challenges, learning new things and discovering my potential. 

 

Kinto

Kinto is a lightweight JSON storage service with synchronisation and sharing abilities. The differences I observed from existing such solutions are:

  • Fine grained permissions can be imposed on records, collections and buckets which follow a hierarchy as shown:

concepts-general

  • Kinto provides for Synchronization. Applications can synchronize data on different devices.

  • If an application makes some change, while offline, these changes will be reflected when connection is established back.

  • Multiple clients can access a server in case of a shared resource for collaborating.

 I will be working on the Decentralization of Kinto instances and discovery of Kinto servers. Once the server is discovered, the user can easily share his/her Kinto instance with multiple users by sharing a URL. I’ll explain this in detail in the next post. 

To know more about Kinto, visit the Online documentation (https://kinto.readthedocs.org/) and check out the code at (https://github.com/Kinto/kinto/)

 

Leave a Reply

